The Virginia 
Teacher of the Year Network

MAINTAINING

EXPECTATIONS.


Making dreams

of a better future

possible.



2004 Laurie J. Sullivan; Kate Waller Barrett Elementary School; 4401 North Henderson Road, Arlington, VA 22203; Math, Science, Technology, K-6; Laurie.Sullivan@cox.net


2003 Douglas C. Armstrong; Brooke Point High School; 1700 Courthouse Road, Stafford, VA 22554; -- Instrumental Music, 9-12; darmstro@bphs.com


2002 Ruth S. Grillo; Onancock Learning Center; 6 College Avenue, Onancock, VA 23417; -- Gifted Education, K-5; rgrillo@pen.k12.va.us


2001 Cari L. Vickey; Winding Creek Elementary School; 475 Winding Creek Elementary; Stafford, VA 22554; -- Elementary, 3; vatoy2001@aol.com


2000 Robin D. Smith; Buckingham High School; HC-02, Box 376; Buckingham, VA 23921; -- English, 11-12; ironrock@moonstar.com


1999 Linda B. Koutoufas; Woodstock Elementary School; 6016 Providence Road; Virginia Beach, VA 23464; -- Elementary, 3; lbkou@aol.com


1998 Philip Bigler: Thomas Jefferson High School for Science & Technology; 6560 Braddock Road, Alexandria, VA 22312 -- Humanities/Am. History, 11; philipb445@aol.com 1998 National Teacher of the Year ( NTOY Information )


Additional Virginia

Teachers of the Year






2012 Meg Smith; Paul Lawrence Dunbar Middle School for Innovation, Lynchburg City Schools; English Literature


2011 Latonya Waller ; Lucille M. Brown Middle School, Richmond City Schools, Virginia; 6th and 8th grade science


2010 Catherine S. Webb; Narrows Elementary School, Giles County, Virginia; Speech Language Pathologist & Special Education


2009 Stephanie Doyle; Breckinridge Middle School, 3901 Williamson Road, Roanoke, VA, 24012; History, 6; sdoyle@rcps.info


2008 Thomas R. Smigiel Jr.; Norview High School, 6501 Chesapeake Blvd., Norfolk, VA 23513; Teen Leadership/Earth Science, 9,10; tsmigiel1@cox.net - 2008 National Teacher of the Year Finalist


2007 Susan W. Evans; Rural Retreat High School, 321 East Buck Avenue, Rural Retreat, VA 24368; Mathematics, 9-12; sevans@wythe.k12.va.us


2006 Deborah S. Goforth; Courtland Elemetary School; 6601 Smith Station Road; Spotsylvania, VA 22553; Librarian, K-5; dgoforth@es.spotsylvania.k12.va.us


2005 Joseph Hills; Lake Braddock Secondary School; 9200 Burke Lake Road; Burke, VA 22015; Social Studies, 9-12; sjhills75@yahoo.com